

Professional Development Conference 2015

Crowne Plaza Executive Center Baton Rouge, Louisiana November 19-23, 2015

Monday, November 23, 2015 3:00 p.m.

Louisiana All-State Symphonic Band 2015

Robert Sheldon Conductor

The mission of the Louisiana Music Educators Association is to provide leadership, professional development, and support for its membership to ensure quality music education.

2015 LOUISIANA ALL-STATE SYMPHONIC BAND

Flute		Trumpet	
Joanna Calhoun*	West Monroe	Antonio Suarez*	Brother Martin
Anna Chavanne*	Sam Houston	Cameron Esponge	Delcambre
Mollie Faucheaux*	Mandeville	William Joiner	West Monroe
Vivian Ton*	Denham Springs	Mike Bishop*	West Monroe
Emily Firmin*	Covington	Nathan Roth	Hahnville
Hannah Scheaffer*	Ruston	Cameron Sprague*	Covington
Thomas White	Haughton	Brandon Schittone*	Walker
Oboe		Tristan Theriot*	Central Lafourche
Daniel Cheng*	Ruston	Holden Zugger*	West Monroe
Cloud Cunanan	Parkway	French Horn	
Bassoon		Blaine Dodson*	Dutchtown
Cameron Wolf	Lafayette	Justin Manceaux*	North Vermilion
Sabrina Walch*	Haynes Academy	Jonathan Rome	Lafayette
Clarinet		Trevor Simon*	North Vermilion
Tyler Bourque*	Erath	Drayk Blair	East Ascension
Harrison Dollar*	East Ascension	Trombone	
Ann-Marie Stelly*	Lafayette	Colton Johnson	Walker
Adam Hardwick*	Lafayette	Christopher Bradley*	Parkview Baptist
Raylee Burgett*	Sulphur	Clay Kershaw*	Catholic
Kaitlyn Nassar*	St. Amant	Jacob St. Pierre*	Archbishop Rummel
Patherson Rodas	Grace King	Joshua Johnson*	Benton
Alexia LaGrone*	Lafayette	Blake Ross*	West Monroe
Jacob Cheng*	Ruston	Bass Trombone	
Sarah Comeaux*	Central Lafourche	Garrett Byrne*	Walker
Bass Clarinet		Baritone	
Quinton Pharr	West Monroe	Austin Trahan*	Acadiana
Madison Ball*	South Terrebonne	Luke Huval*	Lafayette
Austin Green	Captain Shreve	Colten Denning*	DeRidder
Contrabass Clarinet		Tuba	
Kelsie Felarise*	Central Lafourche	Nick Arnaud*	Rayne
Alto Saxophone		Ethyn Evans*	Sulphur
Jonathan Dufresne*	Terrebonne	Abigail Kent*	Benton
Laura Lovell*	West Monroe	Pearce Martin	E. D. White Catholic
Cole Doucet*	Lafayette	Percussion	
Jae Kweon*	Jesuit	William Fine*	Jesuit
Tenor Saxophone		Sheldon Shannon*	East Ascension
David Hochkeppel*	Lafayette	Ben Hawkins*	West Monroe
David Billodeau	Sulphur	Joel Bellanger*	Central Lafourche
Baritone Saxophone		Brinden Eisler*	West Ouachita
Nolan Fore*	St. Amant	Anthony Bruce	Hahnville
Piano		Leo John Arnett*	Jesuit
Chloe Sterling*	Baton Rouge	Erin Bullock*	Airline
String Bass			
James Gillyard	Natchitoches Central		

Academic Excellence

The Louisiana Music Educators Association gives additional recognition to All State members in grades 10-12 who have attained academic excellence. A student must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher to qualify for this honor. Recipients of this honor are designated by an asterisk in this program and will receive a certificate. Eleventh and twelfth graders also receive a medal. These awards are sponsored by Mr. John W. Kelley and Swicegood Music Company of Louisiana.

CONCERT PROGRAM

Program to be selected from the following

Armenian Dances, Part 1 Reed
Children's March Grainger
Fantasia on Black is the Color Camphouse
Danzas Cubanas Sheldon

Robert Sheldon

Conductor 2015 Louisiana All-State Symphonic Band

Robert Sheldon (b. Feb 3, 1954) has taught instrumental music in the Florida and Illinois public schools, and has served on the faculty at Florida State University where he taught conducting and instrumental music education classes, and directed the university bands. As Concert Band Editor for Alfred Music Publishing, he maintains an active composition and conducting schedule, and regularly accepts commissions for new works. Sheldon received the Bachelor of Music in Music Education from the University of Miami and the Master of Fine Arts in Instrumental Conducting from the University of Florida.

An internationally recognized clinician, Sheldon has conducted numerous Regional and All-State Honor Bands throughout the United States and abroad. His teaching career included 28 years in the Florida and Illinois public schools as well as at the University of Florida, Florida State University, Illinois Central College and Bradley University.

He is lead author for the SOUND INNOVATIONS FOR BAND method books, and is a co-author for the MEASURES OF SUCCESS Volume 1 method book and the SOUND INNOVATIONS FOR STRINGS method books.

The American School Band Directors Association has honored him with the Volkwein Award for composition and the Stanbury Award for teaching, and the International Assembly of Phi Beta Mu honored him with the International Outstanding Bandmaster Award. He has also been a twenty-eight-time recipient of the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publisher's Standard Award for his compositions in the concert band and orchestral repertoire.

Appreciation

LMEA wishes to express sincere appreciation to everyone who had a part in the presentation of the 2015 All-State/Conference. We also offer thanks to the Calcasieu Parish Schools Print Shop for all LMEA programs, O'Neill's Music Company for the use of pianos, and PreSonus Audio for audio equipment.

Louisiana Music Educators Association

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Executive Officers

Sharon McNamara-Horne President
Fran Hebert President-Elect
Sara Bidner Past-President
Bruce W. Lambert Executive Director

District Directors

Greg Oden District I Johnny Walker District II **Brett Babineaux** District III Richard Bresowar District IV Sharon Stephenson District V Guy Wood District VI Jim Trant District VII Mark Minton District VIII Neal Naquin District IX

Division Chairmen

Jay EckerBandKatrice LaCourOrchestraR. Michael TownsendVocalLee HicksJazz

Michele White Elementary

Jay JacobsUniversity-ResearchEdward McClellanCollegiate MENCCarolyn HerringtonPublic Relations

Ex-Officio Board Members

Pat Deaville State Editor

Tom Wafer LMEA Hall of Fame

Keith Rogers

Caroline Carson

Casey Doucet

LAKE

Gina Anthon AOSA Red Stick Chapter

B.J. McGibney LAJE
Michelle Wilkinson-Nelson LA ASTA

Conference Chairmen

Bruce W. Lambert Executive Director

Fran Hebert All-State
James W. Hearne Conference
Carolyn Herrington Exhibits
Sara Bidner Registration

Tom Wafer LMEA Hall of Fame