

Professional

Development

Conference

2015

Crowne Plaza Executive Center Baton Rouge, Louisiana November 19-23, 2015

Friday, November 20, 2015 4:00 p.m.

Louisiana All-State Women's Chorale 2015

Angie Rawls Conductor

The mission of the Louisiana Music Educators Association is to provide leadership, professional development, and support for its membership to ensure quality music education.

2015 LOUISIANA ALL-STATE WOMEN'S CHORALE

Soprano I

Madeline Blundell* Lafayette Natalie Broussard* Lafayette

Cailey Cole Avoyelles Public Charter

Kelly Cole* West Monroe

Erica Douzart Tioga

Lucinda Ealey Academy of Sacred Heart

Alex Fontenot LaGrange
Bree Guggenheim Caddo Magnet
Sophia Handley* Lafayette

Avany Hanganya North Varreilia

Avery Hargrave North Vermilion
Olivia Holland* St. Joseph's Academy

Sydney Kircher* Tioga

Laura Lovell* West Monroe
Morgan McCrory Buckeye
Lauren Owen* West Monroe
Marisa Riley* Cabrini
Camryn Rodrigue Thibodaux
Krista Romero* Lafayette

Kalin Stevenson* Baton Rouge High

Madeleine Thibeaux* Ascension

Alice Way* Baton Rouge High

Soprano II

Marianne Alexis Barbe Karen Antunez Chapelle Pineville Hannah Aslin* Tia Bell* Southwood Mary Bordelon* Pineville Sarah Davis* Pineville Sophia Dinh* West Monroe Miya Douglas* Caddo Magnet **Christian Gibbens** Ponchatoula Anna Gibson* Ponchatoula

Faith Gintz* Tioga
Emily Guagliardo* Ponchatoula
Magen Harris LaGrange

Angelle Hebert* Central Lafourche
Brynn Hoggan* Caddo Magnet
Cheyenne Huffman Buckeye

Hallie Jones Mandeville
Teresa Lacour* Chapelle
Korinn Lane Terrebonne
Isabelle Lassere Pearl River
Riley Stokes* Tioga
Laura Grace Watts* NISH

Alto

Sarah Alvarez
Kathleen Barrios*
Maggie Butler*
Julia Churchman
Isabelle Donahue*
Lexi Epling*

Caddo Magnet
LMSA
Chapelle
St. Amant
Lusher
West Monroe

Barbara Flandez St. Joseph's Academy Kaleigh Goodwin* West Monroe

Kelesha Gray* Thibodaux
Deniz Gungor* Caddo Magnet
Emily Hines* Ponchatoula

Alto

Kelsey Hukins Avoyelles Charter Molly LeBoeuf* Terrebonne Lafayette Samantha Lee Caddo Magnet Victoria Lowery Jasmine Lynch Caddo Magnet Jada Melancon LaGrange Barbe Madeline Myers* Chapelle Victoria Schauder* Sara Toal * Tioga Asianna White LaGrange

Academic Excellence

The Louisiana Music Educators Association gives additional recognition to All State members in grades 10-12 who have attained academic excellence. A student must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher to qualify for this honor. Recipients of this honor are designated by an asterisk in this program and will receive a certificate. Eleventh and twelfth graders also receive a medal. These awards are sponsored by Mr. John W. Kelley and Swicegood Music Company of Louisiana.

CONCERT PROGRAM

Eatnemen Vuelie (Fairest Lord Jesus)
Hoj, Hura Hoj!
Ain't No Grave Can Hold My Body Down
Set Me as A Seal
Lift Thine Eyes to the Mountains (from Elijah)

Frode Fjellheim Otmar Macha arr. by Caldwell and Ivory Rene Clausen Mendelssohn

Angie Rawls

Conductor 2015 Louisiana All-State Women's Choir

Angie Rawls has been a choral director in the Pearl Public School district in Pearls, Mississippi for 23 years. She is the Director of Choral Activities at Pearl High School where she directs Pearl Singers, Pearl Chamber Singers, Pearl Men's Glee, and various ensembles. She serves as accompanist for several choral groups, as well as directing the pit orchestra for the annual Pearl High School musical production.

Angie has had the privilege of serving as a clinician for mass choirs in the great state of Mississippi, and also as an adjudicator in the southeastern United States. She holds the Bachelor of Music degree from Millsaps College in Jackson, Mississippi, and the Master of Music Education degree from Mississippi College in Clinton, Mississippi. She is also a National Board Certified Teacher.

Angie's most recent musical endeavor is serving as pianist for First Baptist Church Clinton, Mississippi. Angie is an active member Mississippi Music Educators Association and is in the second year of her term as President. She is also a member of the American Choral Directors Association where she currently serves as Mississippi ACDA Treasurer. Angie is married to Peyton Rawls who is also very musical and they have two equally musical children, Jaron and Melody.

Accompanist

Louis Wendt

Louis Wendt is currently Organist and Associate Director of Music at Our Lake of Mercy Catholic Church in Baton Rouge. An LSU graduate, Mr. Wendt was studio accompanist for metropolitan Opera diva Martina Arroyo for six years performing in concert with her in New York and on European tours.

Appreciation

LMEA wishes to express sincere appreciation to everyone who had a part in the presentation of the 2015 All-State/Conference. Special thanks to East Baton Rouge Parish for the use of their choir risers. We also offer thanks to Sarah Todd who served as an additional accompanist, the Calcasieu Parish Schools Print Shop for all LMEA programs, O'Neill's Music Company for the use of pianos, and PreSonus Audio for audio equipment.

Louisiana Music Educators Association BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Executive Officers

Sharon McNamara-Horne President
Fran Hebert President-Elect
Sara Bidner Past-President
Bruce W. Lambert Executive Director

District Directors

Greg Oden District I Johnny Walker District II **Brett Babineaux** District III Richard Bresowar District IV Sharon Stephenson District V Guy Wood District VI Jim Trant District VII Mark Minton District VIII Neal Naguin District IX

Division Chairmen

Jay EckerBandKatrice LaCourOrchestraR. Michael TownsendVocalLee HicksJazzMichele WhiteElementary

Jay JacobsUniversity-ResearchEdward McClellanCollegiate MENCCarolyn HerringtonPublic Relations

Ex-Officio Board Members

Pat Deaville State Editor

Tom Wafer LMEA Hall of Fame

Keith Rogers

Caroline Carson

Casey Doucet

LBA

LA ACDA

LAKE

Gina Anthon AOSA Red Stick Chapter

B.J. McGibney LAJE
Michelle Wilkinson-Nelson LA ASTA

Conference Chairmen

Bruce W. Lambert Executive Director

Fran Hebert All-State
James W. Hearne Conference
Carolyn Herrington Exhibits
Sara Bidner Registration

Tom Wafer LMEA Hall of Fame