The 2017 Louisiana Music Educators Association Annual State Music Conference Crowne Plaza Hotel, Baton Rouge, Louisiana November 16-20, 2017

Fran Hebert, President Bruce Lambert, Executive Director James Hearne, Conference Chairman

All-State Conductors and Featured Clinicians

LMEA Hall of Fame Inductee		
LAJE Hall of Fame Inductee		

Mike Esneaultis an Emmy award winning composer/arranger/pianist and educator who has been an instructor of the East Baton Rouge Gifted and Talented Program.Jay Eckeris a retired director with many superior ratings earned by his concert, jazz and marching bands. He is currently owner of Rikenjaks Brewing Company.

LMEA Outstanding Young Music Educator Award

Aaron Miller, *Thibodaux High School*; Jonah Slason, *North Vermilion Middle and High School*; Joshua Stearman, *Mandeville High School*; Keri Beth Powell, *Caldwell Parish Junior and Senior High Schools*; Robert Farmer, *Lockport Middle School*; and Austin Taylor, *Lafayette High School*.

LMEA Outstanding Administrator Award

Mary Yvonne Zeno is Principal at Ovey Comeaux High School in Lafayette, Louisiana.

Clinics, Meetings, and Exhibits

Seventeen clinics for Elementary and Vocal Divisions, *nineteen* clinics for the Band, Jazz and Orchestra Divisions, *fourteen* clinics for Collegiate NAfME Division/General Sessions, *sixteen* business meetings for organizations and divisions, and *thirty-eight* exhibits by vendors/colleges.

Concerts and Guest Performances

The Louisiana All-State Mixed Choir	Conductor: Dr. Andre Thomas	Chairman: Mike Townsend
The Louisiana All-State Women's Chorale	Conductor: Angie Rawls	Chairman: Mike Townsend
The Louisiana All-State Jazz Ensemble	Conductor: Wycliffe Gordon	Chairman: Lee Hicks
The Louisiana All-State Orchestra	Conductor: Dr. Robert Gillespie	Chairman: Katrice LaCour
The Louisiana All-State Concert Band	Conductor: Alfred L. Watkins	Chairman: William Earvin
Louisiana All-State Symphonic Band	Conductor: Gary Green	Chairman: Joshua Stearman
Northwestern State University Wind Symphony	Conductor: Dr. Jeffrey C. Mathews	
Northwestern State University Chamber Choir	Conductor: Dr. Nicholaus B. Cummins	
Northwestern State University Jazz Orchestra	Conductor: Galindo Rodriguez	
Northwestern State University Symphony Orchestra	Conductor: Dr. Douglas C. Bakenhus	

Guest Clinicians for Elementary and Vocal Divisions

Lamar Robertson	is an internationally acclaimed Kodaly music educator. (Sponsored by LAKE)
Sandy Knudson	is the Artistic Director of the Norman (Oklahoma) Children's Choir.
Julitette de Silva	is teaches at BRCVPA and previously taught music (a la cart) at Cedarcrest Southmoor Elementary School.
Alicia Canterbury	is an Elementary Music Specialist for the Bibb County Board of Education.

Mary Turner	is the choral director at Hudson Independent School District in Lufkin, Texas.
Dr. Chris Turner	is an assistant professor of voice at Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches, Texas
Dr. Trey Davis	is the Associate Director of Choral Studies at Louisiana State University.
Katie Potts	is currently the choral director at Lee Magnet High School in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.
Andrew Owen	is currently a musicology PhD student at Louisiana State University.
Dr. Judy Bowers	is current the holder of the Emy-Lou Biedenharn Chair in Music Education at the University of Louisiana Monroe.
Michele M. White	is the Music Teacher at R. W. Vincent Elementary School in Sulphur, LA. Michele White is the LMEA Elementary Division Chair.
Dan Monaco	is a Training Representative for QuaverMusic.com, pianist and vocal teacher
Jason Jones	is a doctoral student at the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, NY.
Cameron Weatherford	is the Choral Director at Alexandria Senior High School.
Guest Clinicians for	Band, Jazz Ensemble and Orchestra Divisions
Anya Burgess	is owner of Sola Violins in Lafayette and has earned 3 Grammy nominations for her recordings.
Stephen Futrell	is Director of Choral Activities at Elon University, North Carolina
David Carter	is the Director of Education and Outreach for the Charleston Jazz Academy.
Dr. Adam Hudlow	is the Temporary Assistant Professor of Music Theory at Northwestern State University of Louisiana.
Dan McDonald	is Assistant Director of Bands and Assistant Professor of Music at Northwestern State University of Louisiana.
Oliver Molina	is an Assistant Professor of Music and Assistant Director of Bands at Northwestern State University of Louisiana.
Dr. Benjamin Redwine	is a New Orleans based clarinetist who retired after 27 years in the US military band system.
Dr. Kelvin Jones	is the Assistant Director of Bands at Louisiana State University.
Dr. Amanda Schlegel	is an Assistant Professor of Music Education at the University of Southern Mississippi.
Brittany Swindoll	is a fifth-year educator and has served as assistant band director in the Petal School District for two years.
Dr. Colin McKenzie	is Associate Professor of Music, Associate Director of Bands, and Director of The Pride of Mississippi at The University of Southern Mississippi.
Dr. Serena Weren	is the Director of Bands and Assistant Professor of Music at Loyola University, New Orleans.
Cory Meals	is a Visiting Assistant Professor of Music Education at the University of Houston.
Dr. Jeff Mathews	is Director of Bands at Northwestern State University.
Greg Handel	is Acting Director of the School of Creative and Performing Arts at Northwestern State University and serves as University Chairman for LMEA.
Dr. Aaron Witek	is Assistant Professor of Trumpet at the University of Louisiana at Monroe and a drum and bugle corps instructor.
Brett Babineaux	is Band Director at Broussard Middle School and serves as District III Director for the Louisiana Music Educators Association.
Kenny Broussard	is in his 15th year of teaching instrumental music at Erath High School.
Jessica Fain	is currently in her ninth year as the band director at Tioga Junior High and serves as the Assistant Band Director at Tioga High School.
	NAFME Summit for Collegiate Members/Advisors and General Sessions for all LMEA Members
Dr. Ken Goff	is Director of Bands, University of Arkansas at Little Rock.
Dr. Kenna Veronee	is Assistant Professor of Music, University of Louisiana at Monroe.
Dr. Daniel Isbell	is Associate Professor of Music Education, Louisiana State University.
Patrick Moore	is Director of Bands, and Assistant Professor of Music, Houston Baptist University.
John Reeks	is a Professor of Clarinet, Loyola University. (Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra)
Marty Lenard	is Assistant Professor of Music in the School of Liberal Arts at Schreiner University.
Dr. Robert Pethel	is Chairman of the Arts Department, Sutton Middle School.
Lee Hicks	is Director of Band, Fontainebleau High School. (Clinic includes a Demonstration Jazz Band.)
Michael Christiansen	is a classroom guitar & ukulele curriculum author and Professor Emeritus in the Music Department at Utah State University
Wendy Bauer-Reeves	is in her nineteenth year as Band Director at Sells Middle School, and twenty-third year as Assistant Director of the Dublin Coffman Marching Band.
Dr. Edward McClellan	is Associate Professor and Mary Freeman Wisdom Distinguished Professor of Music at Loyola University, New Orleans.
Oliver Molina	is an Assistant Professor of Music and Assistant Director of Bands at Northwestern State University of Louisiana.
Dr. Curtis Tredway	is Associate Professor of Music, University of Texas at El Paso.