

Louisiana Music Educators Association

Board of Directors Meeting 13 May 2023 9:30 AM Crowne Plaza, Baton Rouge

NEXT MEETINGS -CROWNE PLAZA 2023 Conference Planning Meeting - August 5, 2023 (Small group)

2023 Summer/Fall Board Meeting

AGENDA

I. Call to Order: Roll Call

LMEA meeting was called to order at 9:30 with the following people present:

Bruce Lambert, Brett Babineaux, Lee Hicks, Scotty Walker, Robert Freeman, Aleisa Hudlow, Billy Hochkeppel, Jessica Fain, Aaron Theall, Sharon Stephenson, Randy Weaver, Jim Trant, Michele DesLattes, Ronnie Gleason, Doug Stone, Katrice LaCour, Josh Steadman, Victor Drescher, Greg Oden, Carolyn Herrington, Sharon McNamara Horne, Tommy Burroughs, Michael Brothers, Ginny Medina-Hamilton, Lynn Burton. Telly Higgins, Annie Young Bridges.

II. Approval of Agenda

Motion to accept Victor Drescher, 2nd Scotty Walker - PASSES

- III. Approval of Minutes
 - a. January 28th Zoom meeting Motion Victor Drescher 2nd Aleisa Hudlow PASSES
 - b. February 25th Finance Zoom meeting Motion Victor Drescher 2nd Aleisa Hudlow PASSES
- 111. Guest Presentation- Madeline DeHart, Vermilion Parish Music Supervisor
 Louisiana Heritage Connections- Online available contact madeline.dehart@vpsb.net
 Madeline is available to help with grant writing questions she is a terrific advocate.
- IV. Approval of Financial Report Bruce Lambert Motion: Victor Drescher 2nd Aleisa Hudlow PASSES

Reminder that the board has paid for our executive officers to attend the NAfME convention. The board will continue to pay for national assembly – This year President and Executive Director are asked to attend. In the past if others wish to attend - \$2000 combined cap for all additional attendees.

- Donation information
- Donation link Sharon McNamara Horne and Scotty Walker are working on link.
- Amazon Smile has been shut down.
- Bid from Louisiana trophies (in google drive LMEA Bid Sheet 1 year) NEW BUSINESS

 Music Rising – organization to help fund music education after disasters. Link set up on LMEA website.

REPORTS IN GOOGLE DRIVE:

https://drive.google.com/drive/u/1/folders/1IwH8mCuSPpRiLNirHt7TOrBcyEC7sByl

V. Executive Officer Report

President – Brett Babineaux President-Elect – Lee Hicks Immediate Past President – Scotty Walker

VI. District Directors Report

- 1. Robert Freeman
- 2. Aleisa Hudlow
- 3. Billy Hochkeppel
- 4. Jessica Fain
- 5. Sharon Stephenson
- 6. Randy Weaver
- 7. Jim Trant
- 8. Michele DesLattes
- 9. Stephanie Robertson (AB)

District Directors would like a zoom meeting to make certain that the dates for All-State first and second round auditions are clear. They would like for dates to be consistent from all Divisions so that there will be less confusion for them and their district membership. Zoom to be scheduled.

VII. Division Reports

Band Division – Ronnie Gleason

Collegiate (CNAfME) – Ed McClellan (AB – Graduation)

Elementary Division – Keith James

Jazz Division – Doug Stone

Orchestra Division – Katrice Lacour (Jazz and Orchestra recording all due on September 16th 11:59pm)

Public Relations – Josh Stearman

University Division – Victor Drescher (UNO Jazz Ensemble and McNeese Wind Ensemble – 2023 Conference)

Vocal Division – Greg Oden (Clinicians in report) Due dates will mirror band dates and times. District Directors need to let Greg know when their first round auditions are and sight reading will be emailed to them.

VIII. Ex-Officio Members and Organizations

ACDA – Amy Prats (AB)

Editor – Carolyn Herrington

Hall of Fame – Tommy Burroughs

LAJE - Michael Brothers

LAKE – Ava Brown (AB)

LA PASA – Gustavo Miranda (AB)

LBA – Jessica Fain

LMAA - Bill Brent (AB – report by Jessica Fain)

LSTA – Annie Young-Bridges

Webmaster – Sharon McNamara-Horne

IX. Committee Reports

Administration Advisory Council - Tony McCardle (AB - sent report)

Baton Rouge Conference Committee - Brett Babineaux

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council - James Square (AB)

Ethics Committee – no issues to discuss

Guitar - Dr. Greg Robin (AB)

Large Ensemble Assessment Committee - Brett Babineaux (Over the summer committee will meet to make recommendations for Large Ensemble Assessment.)

Louisiana Advocacy Leadership Force - Ginny Medina-Hamilton

Mentorship - Brett Babineaux

Middle School/Jr. High All-State Committee

- Band Aaron Theall, Ronnie Gleason
- Choir Greg Oden
- Jazz Doug Stone
- Orchestra Katrice LaCour

Professional Development - Brett Babineaux

PML Committee - Aleisa Hudlow

State Solo Assessment - Bruce Lambert

Tri-M - Lynn Burton

X. Unfinished Business

a. **Job Postings on LMEA Website** (update) - Sharon McNamara-Horne, Carolyn Herrington, Jessica Fain

XI. New Business

- a. Recognizing outgoing board members
- b. Installation of New Board Members
- c. Conference Chair Position Election Denise Howell had the majority vote for Conference Chair Position.
- d. Large Ensemble Award Bid
 - i. Motion to accept the bid proposal sent by *Louisiana Trophies* for all Large Ensemble Assessment Awards Motion: Aleisa Hudlow 2nd Jessica Fain PASSES
- e. Tom Wafer Administrative Award Nominations Scotty Walker

Motion: Remove sentence about music supervisors being ineligible –

Motion Alesia Hudlow and 2nd Jessica Fain PASSES

Purpose: To recognize and honor outstanding school principals, assistant principals, superintendents, and/or assistant or associate superintendents who demonstrate support for and commitment to high-quality arts education programs in their schools. The influence of such administrators is a major factor in improving music education in school systems across the state.

- i. Jennifer Burris Incomplete app DNQ
- ii. Michelle Chaisson Motion Jim Trant 2nd Jessica Fain PASSES

- iii. Debbie Dixon Motion Robbie Freeman 2nd Michelle DesLattes **PASSES**
- iv. Dr. Grant Eloi Motion Aleisa Hudlow 2nd Katrice LaCour PASSES
- v. Toby Quarles Motion Michelle DesLattes 2nd Victor Drescher **PASSES**

** Next Meetings

Large Ensemble Assessment Committee -

2023 Conference Planning Meeting - August 5, 2023

2023 Summer/Fall Board Meeting - Sept 23, 2023

XII. Adjournment Motion

Motion to adjourn: Victor Dresher 2nd Katrice Lacour MEETING Adjourned