**** Next Meeting - May 11, 9:30 am, Lafayette (site TBA)**



Louisiana Music Educators Association Board of Directors Meeting 13 January 2024 9:30 AM

LINK TO GOOGLE DRIVE FOLDER - WINTER MEETING 2024

AGENDA

I. Call to Order: Roll Call

LMEA meeting was called to order at 9:30 with the following people present: Brett Babineaux, Scotty Walker, Lee Hicks, Jim Trant, Greg Oden, Denise Howell, Josh Stearman, Sharon McNamara-Horne Greig Ashurst, Tony McCardle, Michael Brothers, Lynn Burton, Amy Kutz, Cory Craig, Aleisa Hudlow, Robbie Freeman, Telly Higgins, Ed McClellan, Victor Drescher, Greg Robin, Doug Stone, Stephanie Robertson, Jason Ladd, Michele DesLattes

** Special Guest - Greig Ashurst (president, Handbell Musicians of America) Proposal is in the drive for Handbell motion – later in the meeting. Asking that Louisiana be the second state to have an All-State Handbell choir.

QUESTIONS: Today is only a vote to create a Louisiana Handbell All-State choir.

- 1. What finances will LMEA be responsible for? Handbell Musicians of America will pay for the clinician for the first two years. The expense for LMEA would be to provide a space for the group to rehearse as well as a place for the concert.
- 2. Lee Hicks If we can find a place, Lee / Denise feel like this will be possible.
- 3. How many students? 13 to 15 students (Will not grow to more than 25)
- 4. Victor Drescher Who provides the handbells? Cathedral-Carmel will provide the handbells/tables and pads.
- 5. Jim Trant Great idea Would these students be required to spend the night? Group will be in and out in 24 hours. (Yes they would spend the night to participate.)
- 6. Mr. Ashurst would like to expand in the future to include Junior High School students.
- 7. Lee How many schools currently have handbell programs? 15 16 currently in the state.
- 8. Robbie Freeman His church in Monroe recently acquired a set of handbells and tables they would be available.

II. Approval of Agenda

Motion: Greg Oden, 2nd Josh Stearman PASSES

III. Approval of Minutes

- Sept. 23 Board Meeting Motion: Lee Hicks, 2nd Doug Stone **PASSES**
- Jim Trant wants minutes to reflect how many "for/against" when votes when a motion is made.
- Oct. 18 Special Meeting Motion: Aleisa Hudlow 2nd Michele DesLattes **PASSES**

IV. Approval of the Financial Report - Scotty Walker (Sharon McNamara Horne took questions) - None

Lee Hicks – Commended Sharon and Scotty in the transition to the new Executive Secretary position. Motion: Greg Oden 2nd Victor Drescher **PASSES**

V. Unfinished Business

• New Advocacy Videos - Scotty Walker, Tony McCardle

UPDATE: Tony McCardle

Plan is to go across the state and grab videos that support how school administrators impact culture. Tony is going to get more videos in the near future – keying on getting the principals involved in the videos.

- Another project is LMEA "Live" raw no script "Tell us your passion for music."
- Tony is open for ideas. He would love to talk to administrators who are in love with the school music programs.
- There are videos in all genres. The goal is for music educators to share these videos with their administrators and communities.

LEE Hicks – do we have a list of school administrators contact information?

Tony – Yes, we have a list of those administrators who attended the recent administrators conference.

Denise Howell – that information would also be very useful in soliciting sponsors for the New Orleans conference.

Stephanie Robertson has a list of administrator contacts and will share!

VI. New Business

• Motion to add Handbell Ensemble as an LMEA All-State Ensemble

Motion: Lee Hicks 2nd Robbie Freeman In Favor:14 Opposed: 0 PASSES

- Update on New Dates/Deadlines for 2024 All-State auditions
 Dates and deadlines will remain as they are for next year. With hotel deposits being due in
 November we need the ensembles to be selected so that we can meet our room quota.
 JIM TRANT: What is the timeline for middle school? Dates for all groups will be the same as a
 November conference. (After next year, we will try to stagger dates for middle school & high
 school All-State auditions.)
- Election Update Band and Choir divisions have multiple candidates. Newsletter will go out next week and voting will start March 1st.) Only full current active members can vote in the LMEA elections. If your membership is not current, you may not vote. Log in information will be checked we can not tell how a person votes, but we can make certain that they are current LMEA members. Duplicate votes (if cast) are not counted.
- Motion to approve the bid from Collier Construction to add to the LMEA Hall of Fame cabinets on the campus of Northwestern State University for \$4210.00.
 Bill Brent contacted original cabinet vendor, we have run out of space. This is the amount for the addition cabinets.

Motion: Greg Oden, 2nd Aleisa Hudlow

Lee Hicks – where will this set of cabinets be located. (Aleisa Hudlow thinks the cabinets may be added in the hall.) It appears that 2 display cabinets will be added. Possibly 16 new members in each cabinet. In Favor: 12 Opposed: 0 Abstentions: 1 **PASSES**

VII. Executive Officer Reports

President – Brett Babineaux President-Elect – Lee Hicks (Thanked Cent Immediate Past President – Scotty Walker

VIII. District Directors Report

1. Robert Freeman

2. Aleisa Hudlow

REPORTS IN GOOGLE DRIVE LINK AT TOP OF PAGE

- 3. Billy Hochkeppel
- 4. Jessica Fain
- 5. Aaron Theall
- 6. Telly Higgins
- 7. Jim Trant
- 8. Michele DesLattes
- 9. Stephanie Robertson

IV. Division Reports

Band Division – Ronnie Gleason Collegiate (CNAfME) – Ed McClellan Elementary Division – Keith James Jazz Division – Doug Stone Orchestra Division – Katrice Lacour Public Relations – Josh Stearman University Division – Victor Drescher Vocal Division – Greg Oden

X. Ex-Officio Members and Partner Organizations

ACDA – Alyssa Carranza AOSA - Erin Fort Conference Chair - Denise Howell Editor – Carolyn Herrington Hall of Fame – Tommy Burroughs LAJE - Michael Brothers LAKE – Ava Brown LA PASA – Kathryn Irwin LBA – Amy Kutz LMAA - Bill Brent LSTA – Annie Young-Bridges Webmaster – Sharon McNamara-Horne

XI. Committee Reports

Administration Advisory Council - Tony McCardle Baton Rouge Conference - Brett Babineaux CBDNA- Jason Ladd Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council - James Square Guitar - Dr. Greg Robin Large Ensemble Committee - Billy Hochkeppel Louisiana Advocacy Leadership Force - Ginny Medina-Hamilton Mentorship - Cory Craig PML Committee - Aleisa Hudlow State Marching and Contest Committee (LMEA sponsored) - Jim Trant State Solo Assessment Tri-M - Lynn Burton

**** Next Meeting - May 11, 9:30 am, Lafayette (site TBA)**

XII. Adjournment Motion

Motion: Lee Hicks 2nd Aleisa Hudlow PASSES